Proud.

I am PROUD.  For the first time in my whole life, I am proud (well, for the most part) of my current diabetes care.  I’ve had diabetes for 20-some-odd years now and have either been too young to really understand or else too selfish and otherwise involved to stop and think about my accomplishments – I am talking specifically about diabetes.  Since February 2013, I have been in whatever ring of hell diabetic proliferative retinopathy occupies.  Going through the physical and emotional ringer this diagnosis includes, I have really stepped up to the bat and paid attention to my health care.  I’ve become vigilant in checking my blood sugar, counting carbs, eating right relatively right, giving the appropriate amount of insulin, tracking my data, etc.  I’ll take this even further: I’ve started going to a diabetes TEAM that won’t take my BS and that actually cares, talked about getting on an insulin pump, started using said pump, done that awful basal rate testing, carb:insulin ratio testing, iPRO programs – all that jazz.  

I have been doing all of these things.  Important things.  I’ve even gotten my pump and have been carrying it around on my hip pumping me full of that life sustaining ju-ju for the past few weeks (it’s been an interesting ride so far).  This past Thursday, I had an appointment with my doctor and I walked away with a smile on my face.  It was the first appointment in a very, very, very…very long time where I did not feel compelled to lie.  I didn’t feel compelled to stretch the truth and make something up.  I didn’t dread going into the office and didn’t make up some excuse to cancel – I didn’t just not show up.  The appointment was worth while.  The doctors acknowledged my hard work and were pleased with where my levels are right now.  

I’m proud that I’ve gotten down to the nitty gritty and put in the time and effort and am so extremely over the moon to see the fruits of my effort reflected in my blood sugars.  I’ve gone from days of A1c readings in the 12s (in the 9s and 10s on a sadly good day) to an A1c in the low 7 range.  I know that I still have room for improvement, but I’m moving in the right direction.  

About pickupmypancreas

I am a Type 1 Diabetic of way more years than I have fingers and toes who loves to read, write, learn and surround myself with friends and family.

Posted on January 25, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

