Emotional Ringer…Two Rounds Down…

   Round 1 went to diabetes the past two weeks.  I’ve been having some trouble with my left eye (the eye sans vitrectomies, oil bubble, blurry vision, and eye patch).  There is some active bleeding despite my thoroughly singed retina and some rather annoying floaters.  I’ve been to the eye doctor twice and go back in two weeks.  My doctor decided to closely watch my retina and told me to stay home and relax – OK!!!!

    I’m not entirely sure if I’m done processing the fact that my right eye was in such turmoil.  Three rounds of laser surgery and two major surgeries are a lot under even semi-not-normal circumstances…but damn.  My left one now, too?  Give me a freakin’ break already

    I’m working so hard to overcome some maddeningly self-induced complications that most of the time I forget to breathe.  Everyone keeps telling me that I need to relax and not get so completely stressed out that I exacerbate my symptoms.  By staying home the past two weeks, I’ve really helped my left eye stay even keel – it’s not “good,” but it didn’t get worse. 

    So that means that I am in desperate need of some awesome stress management – easier said than done for me.  I’m like my father personality wise.  We get stressed out easy and don’t let it out and well, explode in some way, shape, or form.  I’m going to try to get back to yoga – it’s been tough because for a long time, I wasn’t allowed to do much in the way of exercise because of my healing eye.  Meditation is always another possibility…I can’t wait for this crazy cold winter to be over: bike riding and long walk time!

   I got a text the other day which made me laugh.  It’s a reminder that stuff happens and that you need to assess and keep trudging.  All-in-all, I think Round 2 went to me.

Image

About pickupmypancreas

I am a Type 1 Diabetic of way more years than I have fingers and toes who loves to read, write, learn and surround myself with friends and family.

Posted on January 31, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your retinal/eye problem! My hubby just finished a year of laser surgeries and healing, then more surgery. His last one (yesterday) has finally let him see almost normally (his macula is swollen, so when things calm down he should be able to read out of that eye.
    You are in my prayers for a great outcome for your eye! Hang in there!
    J

    • Thank you! It’s great that your husband has more sight now (sorry he had to go through everything he did though…) I’m a huge reader so that has been a really hard adjustment since all this started…I get the oil taken out in March so hopefully I’ll see “normal” again too:)

Leave a Reply

