Cool Experience

Because I work in a hospital, I hear a lot of different stuff – both directly and overhearing people talking.  I usually do not interject my two-cents into any patients’ personal conversations.  I was milling around the clinic’s front desk the other day when a patient came to check in – he is around 10 or 11.  I overheard his mother say the word “insulin” to him.  Huh.  That got me listening with half an ear. “Pump.”  Oh, what the hay. 

     “Did you say insulin?” I ask.

     Mom stops and answers, “Yes! My son has a friend who is a diabetic and he just got an insulin pump…{Kid’s name] thinks it’s neat.”

     “Oh! Well then…” I pull my purple_pancreas out of my pocket and show the kid. “I’m a diabetic and have a pump, too!”

This prompted the patient to sit down next to me and engage in a rather lengthy conversation about what an insulin pump is and what it does.  For some added diabetes fun, my CGM started beep-beep-booping to tell me that I was going lowish which then prompted a CGM discussion.

 

It was just such a cool moment.  Someone who is not a diabetic who wanted to genuinely know what this technology was.  And it was even cooler that he has a diabetic friend and he wants to be able to understand what his friend has to deal with in a more in-depth way.  I just felt lucky to have been a part of this.  

About pickupmypancreas

I am a Type 1 Diabetic of way more years than I have fingers and toes who loves to read, write, learn and surround myself with friends and family.

Posted on March 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

