Stress: You’re Stressing Me Out!

stresschart

Lately, I have been pondering the idea of “stress.”  Do you ever find yourself snared into a conversation where the other party does nothing but complain about how stressed out they are – these stressors being sometimes legit, sometimes mundane?  These types of conversation do nothing more than stress me out on their behalf.  I even sometimes (wrongly, I will admit) want to yell at them: “Yeah?  This is stressing you out?  Try doing it while trying to wrestle type 1 diabetes!”  (Disclaimer: I have never, and would never actually say this to a person…stress is real to everyone and everyone has their circumstances…I was merely trying for a little humor)

But I digress…

Stress does nothing helpful for people with diabetes (hereafter PWD for all you non-diabetic folk!)  I, of course, am speaking from MY experience, which could be different than yours, but: stress sucks.  Stress makes my blood sugars soar to crazy heights and stick there like a kite lodged in a tree; my glucose levels become stubborn as mountain goats refusing to budge.  Stress seems to have a way to become all doom-and-gloom before I even realize I’m falling down the stress-rabbit-hole.

Who, in their sick sense of humor, decided that stress should have this awful effect?

Isn’t it bad enough that I am stressed out by outside things, that now I need to be stressed out about high blood sugar?  Oye ve!  This stress on my diabetes control is stressing me out.  It’s all a very ugly vicious cycle sometimes, isn’t it?  Well, stress can hereby sit on it and spin.

Stress management has never been my strong suit – then again, I have always leaned towards being a more high-strung, wound tight individual (darn my brother for inheriting the laissez-faire, everything will just work out attitude…).  Back in college, I used to thrive on stress – I performed better (example: I wrote my 30-some-odd-page senior thesis a day and a half before it was due and got an A! Whaaaat!?!)  But this just doesn’t work for me anymore.  Stress isn’t good and especially being a person with a chronic illness, stress is of no use.  So.  I am hereby banishing stress from my life!  …Nice try.  It’s still here.

I’m going to try to find ways to unwind and let all of the extra stuff go.  Maybe I’ll start going for more walks.  Up my mediation a bit…go back to yoga.  It’s Spring – maybe it’s time for a master breathe-and-reboot!

What types of things help you de-stress and unwind?

About pickupmypancreas

I am a Type 1 Diabetic of way more years than I have fingers and toes who loves to read, write, learn and surround myself with friends and family.

Posted on April 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

