Diabetes Blog Week #1: The “I Can…” Post

When reflecting on the idea of accomplishments because of, in spite of, or even despite of diabetes, I cannot help but feel the answer to this is two-fold. And those folds have a million tangents, clauses, alleys, twists and turns: so buckle up.Diabetes never slowed me down as a kid. I just had it. I didn’t let it stop me from doing normal kid activities. It generally never gave me pause…well, I’m sure my parents had bouts of indecision and worry, but me? Nope. I had diabetes and well, that’s what I knew and I took the extra steps needed to do what I wanted. But then, I got older and diabetes got heavier. It got plain hard. And why shouldn’t it? It’s a chronic illness that never goes away and will follow me into old age and beyond. Along this particular road, my biggest accomplishment is keeping my sanity (for the most part) intact. I’ve been able to make some sort of truce or peace agreement with the idea that this shit won’t go away. Don’t read me wrong: I still get mad or irritated. But I’ve accepted that it’s here to stay.

 According to previous blog posts, I’ve had some bumps in the road with my health due to diabetes and some poor choices. I have somehow pulled through all of those tribulations with a greater sense of self-worth and awareness. I understand my diabetes more. I am more in-tune with what my body needs. I’ve had a new “outlook on diabetes” so to speak. My approach to self-management got a major overhaul. So all of that being all of that, I’m relatively sane and I feel like a stronger person for it.

 My second caveat would be a future accomplishment. Seeing that apparently I was absent on Career Day where someone hits me over the head with “you have diabetes…use it!”, I am now ready to make a career choice. What good is diabetes if it can’t earn it’s keep – and yes, now I’m using “earn” as in dollars. Why not? I already work in the medical field, in an area open to me diabetes-wise…so I’m going to move forward somehow, some way.

 I really want to become a counsellor/therapist for young diabetics. I want to be in a role where I can share my experiences and make someone else’s diabetes somewhat better, more bearable. I wish more than anything that I had had someone growing up to confide in; to have known what I was going through. How I felt. How actual diabetes feels. Where was someone who could have gotten through to me during the lowest diabetes moments I’ve had to say “Hey. What are you doing to yourself? “ If I can make even the slightest, tiniest difference to someone, it will all be worth it.

About pickupmypancreas

I am a Type 1 Diabetic of way more years than I have fingers and toes who loves to read, write, learn and surround myself with friends and family.

Posted on May 11, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

